CEI - Central European Initiative

The Central European Initiative (CEI) is a regional forum for co-operation and consultation among and between its Member States. Member States of the CEI are: Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine.

Purpose, objectives, key priorities

  1. Climate, Environment and Sustainable Energy
  2. Enterprise Development including Tourism
  3. Human Resource Development
  4. Information Society and Media
  5. Intercultural Cooperation including Minorities
  6. Multimodal Transport
  7. Science and Technology
  8. Sustainable Agriculture
  9. Interrregional and Cross-Border Cooperation

Related sub-programmes

  1. CEI Technical Cooperation (TC) Projects
  2. CEI Know-How Exchange Programme (KEP)
  3. CEI Cooperation Activities
  4. CEI Climate and Environment Projects
  5. Partnerships in EU Projects
  6. Networking: Projects 

Funding schemes and instruments

  1. CEI Trust Fund (EBRD): Technical Cooperation (TC); Know-How Exchange Programme (KEP), CEI Summit Economic Forum
  2. CEI Co-operation Fund
  3. CEI Climate Fund
  4. CEI Solidarity Fund 

Home page


Rules for application, financial rules

not specified


not specified     


Mr. Gianfranco Cicognani
CEI Science and Technology Advisor
Via Genova 9
Tel.: +39 040 7786730, Fax +39 040 360640
E-mail : g.cico@cei-es.org